sana’a 1

June 9, 2008 at 1:16 pm 1 comment

صنعاء

sana’a

 Still on that first weekish steez. Weird Twilight Zonish buzz, bros.

Last weekend, or two weekends ago, I had a three day weekend. So I took a bus to Sana’a, from Aden. The trip was less than 200 miles, but took eight hours because the drive was almost entirely up and around these crazy mountains. Plus, the driver made about six stops, more than half of which were for qat.

I eventually got there and found a beautiful hotel in the middle of Sana’a’s old city (Sana’a Qadima).

I walked around for most of the time, except for a brief visit to ‘Tourist City’ in search of a cold one, about six thousand miles from the closest PBR. 

Within three hours of arriving in Sana’a, I was almost struck by two motorcyclists, hit by three cars, and I was riding shotgun in a minibus that ran a red light and was two feet from being broadsided by a Land Cruiser. The traffic there is crazy.

Here is the first set of the photos I took.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Entry filed under: Middle East, Photos, Yemen. Tags: , , .

What I’ve Learned What I’ve learned

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. Harrison  |  June 11, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Awesome pics. Looking forward to reading more.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Flickr Photos